Pubblicato da: scudieroJons | novembre 24, 2014

Pygmalion’s Bride

by Carol Ann Duffy

Cold, I was, like snow, like ivory.
I thought He will not touch me,
but he did.

He kissed my stone-cool lips.
I lay still
as though I’d died.
He stayed.
He thumbed my marbled eyes.

He spoke –
blunt endearments, what he’d do and how.
His words were terrible.
My ears were sculpture,
stone-deaf shells.
I heard the sea.
I drowned him out.
I heard him shout.

He brought me presents, polished pebbles,
little bells.
I didn’t blink,
was dumb.
He brought me pearls and necklaces and rings.
He called them girly things.
He ran his clammy hands along my limbs.
I didn’t shrink,
played statue, shtum.

He let his fingers sink into my flesh,
he squeezed, he pressed.
I would not bruise.
He looked for marks,
for purple hearts,
for inky stars, for smudgy clues.
His nails were claws.
I showed no scratch, no scrape, no scar.
He propped me up on pillows,
jawed all night.
My heart was ice, was glass.
His voice was gravel, hoarse.
He talked white black.

So I changed tack,
grew warm, like candle wax,
kissed back,
was soft, was pliable,
began to moan,
got hot, got wild,
arched, coiled, writhed,
begged for his child,
and at the climax
screamed my head off –
all an act.

And haven’t seen him since.
Simple as that.

 

Frigida ero, come la neve, l’avorio.
Pensai: Non mi toccherà;
lo fece.

Mi baciò le labbra di pietra.
Stavo immobile,
come morta.
Persistè.
Passò col pollice sui miei occhi di marmo.

Pronunciò
rozze parole dolci, disse cosa avrebbe fatto e come.
Parole terribili.
Le mie orecchie erano sculture.
Sorde come pietre, come conchiglie.
Sentivo il mare.
Lo feci annegare.
Lo sentii gridare.

Mi portò regali, sassolini levigati,
campanelline.
Non battei ciglio,
Non aprii bocca.
Mi portò perle, collane e anelli;
li chiamava gingilli da bimba.
Mi brancicò con mani appiccicose.
Non mi ritrassi.
Bella statuina, muta!

Mi ficcò le dita nella carne,
strizzò, pigiò.
Non mi ammaccò.
Cercava i segni,
cuoricini viola,
stelle d’inchiostro, livide spie.
Le unghie erano artigli.
Non un frego, un graffio, uno sfregio.
Mi puntellò coi cuscini,
e mi redarguì tutta la notte.
Era ghiaccio il mio cuore, era vetro.
Era ghiaia la sua voce, strideva.
Diceva nero poi bianco.

Così cambiai tattica,
mi riscaldai come cera di candela,
ricambiai i baci,
fui morbida, malleabile,
cominciai a mugolare,
mi feci calda, sfrenata,
mi dimenai, spasimai, smaniai,
implorai un figlio suo,
e nell’orgasmo
urlai come invasata;
tutta scena.

Da allora non l’ho più visto.
Semplice, no?

Rispondi

Categorie

